2019 Code Update

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


Every three years, the State adopts new codes (known collectively as the California Building Standards Code) to establish uniform standards for the construction and maintenance of buildings, electrical systems, plumbing systems, mechanical systems, and fire and life safety systems. Sections 17922, 17958 and 18941.5 of the California Health and Safety Code require that the latest edition of the California Building Standards Code apply to local construction 180 days after publication.

All architects, engineers, designers, developers, owners and contractors must be familiar with the codes in effect at the time of plan submittal. The City of Glendora, as required by State law, cannot approve projects that do not comply with the codes in effect at the time of plan submittal. All projects submitted on or before December 31, 2019, are permitted to comply with the 2016 Edition of the California Building Standards Code.

Beginning on January 1, 2020, the CIty of Glendora is required by State law to enforce the 2019 Edition of California Building Standards Codes (also known as Title 24 of the California Codes of Regulations).

The California Building Standards Code consists of the following 13 parts. More detailed information on each section can be found on the International Code Council website.

Part 1    California Administrative Code (CAC)
Part 2    California Building Code (CBC)
Part 2.5 California Residential Code (CRC)
Part 3    California Electrical Code (CEC)
Part 4    California Mechanical Code (CMC)
Part 5    California Plumbing Code (CPC)
Part 6    California Energy Code (CEEC)
Part 7    (Currently Vacant)
Part 8    California Historical Building Code (CHBC)
Part 9    California Fire Code (CFC)
Part 10  California Existing Building Code (CEBC)
Part 11  California Green Building Standards Code (CALGreen)
Part 12  California Reference Standards Code